Does banning the burqa protect or punish Muslim women?

February 8, 2011 § 2 Comments

Women in Burqa

The German state of Hesse has become the first in Germany to ban burqa being worn in public places.

Forgive me if I’m wrong, but isn’t the point of a burqa that it’s worn in public places? This law is a strange one that smacks more of religious intolerance more than anything else. I understand the concern that women might be pressured or forced to wear burqa or niqab by more extreme members of their family, but let’s assume that for the sake of argument that this is the exception and not the rule – I certainly know several inspirational, headstrong, independent Muslim women who have taken to wearing a headscarf in their mid-twenties through no pressure and solely down to their own beliefs. If women are genuinely choosing to wear the religious veil for their own reasons, then there is no justification for the state having the right to force them not to. Are we not all mature enough to allow women to choose how to dress? Do we really need the government to dress us? I am a woman who does not wear a veil. I do not presume to speak for all women who do not, nor to assume that all women who choose to wear one are doing so for the same united reason.

It is a gross violation of human rights and an insulting and patronising move for the women involved. And it is part of a wave across Europe, with Spain and Belgium considering similar moves (and presumably other states in Germany will follow).

And the recent ban in France is a similar example of controversy  in a country that should know better.  It was hailed as a “victory for democracy” – don’t ask me how. I genuinely understand the concern that the veil can segregate Islamic women, can make them seem unapproachable, can represent the oppression of women. But to assume that these stereotypes are true, all this law does is target a very vulnerable part of society.

Put another way, lets pander to the far-right critics that a woman wearing the veil is forced to do so by an overbearing husband. In France, she will now be punished outside the home by her husband if she doesn’t wear it, and punished by the state if she does – possibly fined up to €150 each time. So she can’t win, and she becomes more marginalised. And after all, nobody in this whole law making process seems to have asked her what she thinks anyway.

It would be better to work on integrating society. Many of the women who wear the niqab in France are from North African descent – many immigrants came across to France after the Second World War and settled there precisely because it was a place that could offer similarities in terms of language and culture. Almost 10% of the country are Muslim, and Islam is the most widely practised religion in France. Work to promote understanding and intergration between different communities would be a much better use of Sarkozy’s resources, rather than pushing them out to the edges of society.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Does banning the burqa protect or punish Muslim women?

  • Tanzina Ahmed Choudhury says:

    As a muslim girl, I feel that it is never right to think that when a girl wears a hijab, she is surely wearing it under pressure from her family members. I also cover my head when I go out because this gives me confidence more than anything else do. With my hijab, I am doing everything that gives me pleasure. For example, I have performed Umrah Hajj two times but I also attend cultural functions while still wearing my scarf, my identity. I attend my university classes with it as well as I wear it while attending my workplace. I think what you wear is completely upon your choice and decision. I do not support the decisions (regarding veils) taken by some countries because I think these violate the codes of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

  • Rashed says:

    Thank u for ur thinking.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Does banning the burqa protect or punish Muslim women? at The Gilded Cage.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

